Patron : St. Mary
Established : 1978
Address : Catholic Church, Power House, KHURSIPAR – 490 001, Durg Dt., CG
Catholics : 1650
Power house can be called the centre of Bhilai township, The history of the parish goes as far back as 1957 when Rev. Fr. Megallie, a dedicated Australian Pallottine, purchased a piece of land on which the present establishments grew up. With the arrival of Rev. Fr. Augustine Nadayam at Charoda the church took firm roots in Power House. A prayer hall at Camp-2 stands as monument to his arduous labour. With the advent of Rev. Fr. Thomas Nedumkallel to Charoda, liturgical and pastoral activities gave new life to the parish. On April 28, 1978 Power House parish was bifurcated from Charoda and Rev. Fr. Mathew Valiyathara became the first parish priest. The people of the parish consist of different language groups as they have migrated from different states to work in the steel plant and other factories around. Nirmala Rani School was run by the Parish.
Karuna Hospital, run by JMJ (Jesus Mary Joseph) Sisters, inaugurated in the month of May 1982 was a long cherished dream of the people that came true. Sisters assist in the pastoral activities and health care programmes.